america my dear old friend

18 Apr

give me a head full of furs,
psychedelic furs and
plateau me half way up mount royal
and i’ll see with strains of britannia
bowing to a golden fleet of dugout canoes
algonquins and french
trading furs and words
in the old ojibwe game of
milwaukee,
“gathering place by the water(s)

i see jew arab phoenician extra terrestrial
in every red white blue guerrero
planet mutt earth.

i see professor so and so offering me a ride home;
her tribe a jewel for me to discover.
we walk instead.
she wonders about violence hovering
where slave ships landed
treaties broken;
a slow subtle water torture
dripping into
next generation minds,
refugee minds,
all minds.

i cut out to the hospital
loitering an emergency room
in search of miracles;
hands being held.
two boys and a girl check-in
confessing,
“we’re insane.”

one of the boys accuses me of
torturing children.
a policeman’s gun perks up
i look him in the eyes.
“it’s all good.
he might be right.”

i watch the boy’s face invert;
from lava bubbles to bouquet.

sun ra’s “tiny pyramids”
plays on the other side.
it plays and plays.
let’s play “galaxy express three 9,”
a heifer bell of caravan celeste

america,
i will always like the way you wear a scarf.

3 Responses to “america my dear old friend”

  1. Steve April 18, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

    g-d bless me.
    i’m so vain.

  2. kvennarad April 18, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Ra ra ra for America!

    • Steve April 18, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

      he reincarnated into surf music
      or so i hear.

Comments are closed.

