everywhere a ghost town

30 Jul

the shopping mall doors open at almost midnight?
hmmm, i enter and wonder who the security guard protects?
the headless mannequins behind glass?
i’ve had enough of my echoing footsteps
and escape outside into
french fry air and old dublin pub’s revolving door;
the lipstick, jew’s harp and seamus.
so many poems comedies tragedies
will fling from hearts souls tongues
airborne this evening
for a first and only surge
in ales and amber and fate of us all,
rolling out to sea jambalaya.

*broken bats baseball
the 6 hole

 

4 Responses to “everywhere a ghost town”

  1. tonichristmann July 31, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    I used to work in a mall and have to say you are spot on with that. What I really love here is that you use intense powers of observation (in verse) on such mundane things as daily life. It’s been a long time since I played a jew’s harp.

    • steve July 31, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      thank you. i enjoyed this one. that jew’s harp ya gotta wonder if the inventor had a habit of watching kangaroos.

  2. kvennarad July 31, 2013 at 5:23 am #

    Of course you knew I was going to do this:

    I’m sorry. Along with my poetry mojo, my ability to make a decent comment has gone south.

    • steve July 31, 2013 at 10:04 am #

      don’t sweat it or do sweat it. dance.

Comments are closed.

