maybe that was a past life radar or a future one

31 Oct

i know a squirrel or maybe it’s not the same one,
but a squirrel shows up near the same tree every day
and suddenly stops and stands erect on those hind legs and
those paws rubbing together look like a rosary bead,
that relaxes me,
but then the squirrel flips out with some
this way that way this way acceleration and it goes nowhere.
it’s still in front of me
ready to attack.
did i insult that squirrel’s family name a long time ago?
do squirrels even have families?
names seems so long ago and useless,
so does biology,
so does royalty.
maybe squirrels will fly one day.
maybe they already do somewhere.

11 Responses to “maybe that was a past life radar or a future one”

  1. Glen Russell Slater October 31, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Steve, that really made me smile! I am not a big fan of the rodent family since I had mice in my apartment and am still cleaning up the disgusting mouse droppings and the little fuckers shit EVERYWHERE. (It’s nothing to laugh at, either, as mice droppings from some species of mice, if inhaled, can be toxic. Thank God this wasn’t one of those species; I know, because I visually inspected the characteristics of the mice that I caught in the glue traps. I bought myself one of those devices that you plug in and are silent to the human ear but supposedly are the sound of air raid sirens to these little bastards. Apparently, the thing really works, as only one mouse has appeared in the carefully strategically-placed glue traps since I plugged the electric device in and that was about two days after I installed it; it’s now been in for about a month, and not one mouse has appeared in the glue traps, nor have I found any further mice feces).

    But this thing that you wrote was so sweet and I know that sounds a little “fruity” to say, but I can’t think of a better word for it than “sweet”.

    It’s also very clever and enjoyable to read, my favorite thing by you so far, which is saying a lot, believe me.

    So I am asking you for permission to “reblog” this on MY blog. THAT’S how much I like what you wrote.

    Let me know one way or another. Thanks.

    Glen

    • steve October 31, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Hey Glen, you and I seem to be flying the same wave length. I was just talking to someone about mice and we concluded how incredible it is when an exterminator manages to reroute the rodents in another direction. I wonder if that’s what the air raid siren equivalents you mentioned are doing to the mouse or mice you are experiencing. I hope they stay away for good because as you said the little turds they drop are everywhere. I’m glad the ones in your house are not toxic. Yes of course, you can reblog this. I’m glad you liked it.

      • Glen Russell Slater October 31, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

        Thanks, Steve. I appreciate that. And I imagine that you’re right about how the air raid siren equivalents work, that they re-route the little bastards into another direction

        Glen

  2. Revel October 31, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Happy met you 17 years ago today Hollowed Eve. May you never run out of red wine, and words to voice your truth in beauty, and kind companionship. And yes sometimes I am that squirrel. Call me Juliet and see if I answer.

    • steve November 1, 2013 at 9:34 am #

      thanks for the kind words!

  3. glenrussellslater October 31, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    Reblogged this on Stickball Hero and commented:
    Here is just one example of the quirky and terrific verse that you get when you read Broken Bats. I really loved this particular one, and I think that you’ll like it as much as I did. Steve lives is a native Milwaukean living in Montreal, so I assume that it was a tough adjustment to switch from Miller to Labbats or to Molson Golden. Whatever. Anyway, here is today’s writing by Steve, and I loved it so much that I just had to ask him if I could re-blog it, to which he said it was allright with him, yesireebob, it sure as heck is!!!!
    Glen

  4. robert williams November 1, 2013 at 2:21 am #

    Love the squirrels! “but then the squirrel flips out with some
    this way that way this way acceleration and it goes nowhere” is am accurate description of the little furry creatures. I used to keep a 25 pound sack of peanuts by the sliding glass door to my deck- and every morning they’d be out there waiting for- faces pressed against the door. Nothing says Brooklyn like a squirrel does. Glen sent me! Robert at Rooftop

    • steve November 1, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks Robert. 25 pounds of peanuts! Holy mackeral. That had to be the place for squirrels in the entire northeast region.

  5. kvennarad November 2, 2013 at 5:25 am #

    Ultimately squirrels are rats with good PR. Maybe that’s how you insulted it, you dissed its PR.

    • steve November 2, 2013 at 10:03 am #

      You have a theory, but a squirrel still expresses its neurosis for all to see and that’s kind of charming or honest to me. A rat, on the other hand strolls with an air of way too much confidence. I don’t trust rats. Maybe i’m a ratist,

      • kvennarad November 2, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

        They can’t touch you for it.

Leave a Reply

