my very first medicine chest

14 Nov

death has terrified me ever since i knew.
it’s not so much being gone as it is becoming gone
that last painful lap.
my first hospital memory is winter 1979.
my dad stuck in a neck traction device and
me in st. michael’s 7th floor waiting room.
baseball digest spinning on the rack,
mike flanagon on the cover;
his orange orioles jersey spawning thousands of future tangents
sort of curing me ever since.

2 Responses to “my very first medicine chest”

  1. kvennarad November 15, 2013 at 5:55 am #

    As near perfect as makes no difference.

    • steve November 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

      I think that word ousia is rooted in the word accident. Kinda makes sense because when one takes over and doubts are forced out, it feels so sudden or out of nowhere.

Leave a Reply

