saying grace after meals

2 Dec

i slipped into a literary gathering.
i was hungry.
a guy dropped a bunch of  obscure references on me.
i was thinking about mini tuna fish sandwiches.
he called me a tabula rasa and walked away.
i had never heard the expression.
i looked it up when i got home.
it’s latin for “blank slate.”
at least my stomach was full.

6 Responses to “saying grace after meals”

  1. Millie Ho December 2, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    That guy sounds like a hipster who frequents establishments like the spam museum.

    • steve December 2, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

      Hey Millie, as much as I wish I could eat canned foods like spam, I just can’t do it anymore because they mess up my stomach. It’s the same with McDonalds hamburgers. But it used to be so convenient and kind of fun with the cartoons on the label and the whole marketing thing of each product.

      But I still like McDonald’s coffee and would be way into visiting the Spam museum you mentioned high on McDonalds’ coffee.

      That was me who slipped into the literary gathering, but they had great food. Maybe I was too obvious about it. Next time I’ll walk around a little before diving into the mini sandwiches and stuff.

    • kvennarad December 3, 2013 at 5:57 am #

      There’s a spam museum?

      • steve December 3, 2013 at 10:14 am #

        I didn’t know about that either. I had heard of a house made of fresca cans, but not a spam house. I did an exhaustive search on google-just kidding. In a few clicks-eleven to be exact-spam museum, there it was in Austin, Minnesota

  2. The Son December 3, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    yeah, well, i bumped into the same problem. young people seem to feel very uncomfortable about their intelligence, and that’s why they tend to toss their entire knowledge about literature and philosophy and expression fancyness upon this kind of literary encounters.

    • steve December 4, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Thank you sir. Maybe that sheds some light on the situation and future situations. I certainly didn’t mean to be rude to the fine young man. He was just being friendly and polite and trying to make me comfortable as a new face. And I was just hungry and not really knowledgeable about what he was talking about.

Leave a Reply

