my doctor’s other identity

8 Dec

i always thought Buddha’s message traveled
west to east
india china japan.
that’s what it said in better homes and gardens anyway.
maybe the message made a full circle because my doctor said to us
“don’t think about anything.
none of it’s real.”

we were standing in line to make appointments.
one guy whispered, “maybe he’ll put a turn table in the waiting room.”
another one mentioned ecclesiastes.
the rest of us connected dots.
everyone laughed.

4 Responses to “my doctor’s other identity”

  1. Millie Ho December 8, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

    I’m glad there’s laughter in the reception room. It doesn’t happen enough in the bleakness of winter.

    I had an experience with a doctor whose philosophy seemed to be built on turnstiles: get them in and out as soon as possible. His expression mirrored that of a Moai sculpture and his hands were shaped like shovels. Kind of a scary image now that I think about it.

    • steve December 9, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      it’s true. both the image and the philosophy are kind of scary. Maybe a utilitarian series of sketches is in the works? with doctor’s offices and their greedy expressions, plumbing parts, lawn mowers, that big x ray machine the dentist puts next to our teeth and other things

  2. kvennarad December 9, 2013 at 5:20 am #

    I go into the doctor’s surgery with a printed list – one copy for him/her, one copy for me. I sit there with a face like a bag of cheap nuts until I’ve checked every item, and I won’t go with a question unanswered, except perhaps “Turnstile? What turnstile, Doc?”

    • steve December 9, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      it’s good to be organized

Leave a Reply

