lottery station

10 Dec

when an idea bursts a bouquet in my mind and
it’s too cold
to draw the notebook and pen from pocket holster.
i race to a survival store and
stand and face the lotto 649 millions sign.
there’s a pen dangling down like a microphone at a prize fight
and plenty of grid paper  to turn over
and scribble whatever i feel like.

 

2 Responses to “lottery station”

  1. kvennarad December 10, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    You’re the kind of person who takes a number out of a love of statistics.

    • steve December 10, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      I’ve never actually bought a lottery ticket for myself, but they make great christmas gifts, especially for the elderly I know because today’s lottery is so polymorphous with all the scrabble games and what not.

      But you’re right Marie. I do enjoy numbers in their more primitive forms and would like to one day understand how the more complicated equations translate into bridge construction and symphonies and maybe the creation of the universe or maybe not. Maybe that fries people’s minds.

      Oh well, I’ll have to be patient because for now it’s basic multiplication and division as my daily bread. That’s all I know. Another ode to our friend Henry Chadwick!

Comments are closed.

