when midnight feels right

12 Dec

morning arrives like a cop’s flashlight in the face.
shadows creep across rooftops
there’s stirring back into spines.
i’ve got fingers wedged between the blinds.
screw it.
i remove them and
slip back into darkness.

2 Responses to “when midnight feels right”

  1. glenrussellslater December 12, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    Now THAT I can relate to! Not in the old days. Back in high school, I used to wake up at 5 in the morning, jog a half mile or a mile (carrying my transistor radio, listening to the local music station (WGBB in Freeport, N.Y.) in the dark in my palm as I ran through the streets; there was no such thing as a “Walkman” or things like that back then. It was very difficult to hear it as the transistor radio kept on losing the signal because I was constantly moving my hand that was holding the radio as I ran). Then, I’d get home, make myself a breakfast of French toast by the kitchen light. And at 6, I’d call my friend’s family to wake them up (they were fairly poor, but supposedly they couldn’t afford an alarm clock????) My friend’s mother would always answer the phone groggily (“Helloooooo?????) and I was so polite and shy in those days that I actually apologized for waking her up, even though she and her family asked me to do it! Boy, was I meek back then!

    But as I got more and more depressed, I was no longer a morning person, and I would curse the dawn. I wasn’t looking forward to the coming day; I still don’t look forward to it. I DREAD it. I’m not a very happy person, and haven’t been for a lot of years.

    But back when I was in high school, it was a different story. I LOVED waking up early, before anyone else.

    Glen

    • steve December 13, 2013 at 12:02 am #

      I haven’t done any farming, but I figure the land is like circadian rhythm sleep patterns. A little crop rotation will do the body good.

Comments are closed.

