thoughts while walking through winter

22 Dec

a snow swirl sneaks up behind me.
it slithers and darts like a school of fish
disappearing into a mountain snow spine
so perfect and untouched while
the rest of us trudge on through the
slush and footprints of this worn world.
how many more samsaras is anybody’s guess.

7 Responses to “thoughts while walking through winter”

  1. Millie Ho December 22, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Y’know, there’s a good bicycle for trudging through slush: http://imgur.com/TulRgpy

    • steve December 22, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

      Thanks Millie. I’m gonna pass that one to bikers I know or may meet some day. I’m afraid to ride a bike even in the summer. It requires too much concentration and doesn’t allow any spacing out plus that seat looks like hemorrhoids waiting to happen. As you can tell, I’m turning into an uptight geezer or maybe I always was one.

      • Millie Ho December 22, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

        Now that you mention it, the more I look at it, the more I want to bundle up with layers of snow pants.

        • steve December 22, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

          I like that idea or maybe replace the snow pants with blankets, movies, and windows to look out every couple of days. Anything else feels like an obligation.

  2. kvennarad December 22, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Usually I leave you to say what you have to say, and just enjoy reading it. Sometimes I wish I’d said it first. This is one of the latter occasions.

    • steve December 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      Maybe you already did, but the thought scraps hadn’t merged yet.

Leave a Reply

