my 2 favorite curses

7 Apr

“may you grow old and lonely” was the first.
then…”may you one day be in a wheelchair.”
they used to bother me,
these curses from strangers,
but with all the books and tv and
maybe most important,
the quiet time away from love
makes my mind sharper,
i see your beauty even more
and stare at you in awe.

4 Responses to “my 2 favorite curses”

  1. Millie Ho April 7, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    People take growing old for granted. Honestly, how many people get that luxury? Great poem, Steve!

    • steve April 7, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      Beauteeeeeefull insight Millie. Cuts through all grumpiness and woe and feeling like a victim and why me? It is a luxury and my goodness, you’re young and already realize it.

      • Millie Ho April 8, 2014 at 1:23 am #

        Absolutely, Steve! There’s a lot to be happy about, through and through. 🙂

  2. kvennarad April 8, 2014 at 6:19 am #

    If I was into reblogging I would reblog this. I love it.

    A worse curse, from their point of view, would be “May you one day push a wheelchair.”

Comments are closed.

