naked with Maytag

4 Aug

i rip clothes from my back,
sheets from my bed
and stuff them in the washing machine
like the end of a grail or something.
i push a few buttons and lift up the lid.
there’s a flood forming in the cabin
and then the thing in the middle
referred to as “the agitator” in the Maytag manual
begins to twist and not really shout,
but makes some sort of noise.
there’s a lot of splish splash taking a bath
and a little later
the high-speed spin cycle kicks in,
blurs all the contents,
round and round a while
such a groove that I almost forget about the washing machine,
but then I hear a click and a
s-l-o-w-i-n-g  d-o-w-n and
a very noticeable silence
an even louder silence than before i turned the machine on.
the mothership has landed,
a new life again.

4 Responses to “naked with Maytag”

  1. The Baseball Bloggess August 4, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

    Nearly every morning, 6 a.m., I start my laundry. (They never tell you in massage therapy school that you will be up every morning at 6 with the washing machine trying to get enough linens clean to get you through the day.) Since I’m sort of in that waking up/still asleep part of my day, I just stare at the washer as it fills up with water. It’s like this crazy beautiful zen moment in my day. Just me and the washer. We are a team.

    So a little washing machine poetry from you … just makes me smile. Thanks!

    • Steve Myers August 5, 2015 at 11:26 am #

      I remember the days of dragging laundry bags down steps to the public mat. Life is maybe better now or spoiled with a washer and dryer inside my apartment, but I sure do miss staring at the see through windows on washing machines, like looking back at earth.

  2. kvennarad August 5, 2015 at 4:56 am #

    Shake it up baby.

Comments are closed.

