more down up beautifications

21 Oct

it was about a year ago today,
first frost,
i planted my first ever garlic bulbs,
down on my knees,
prostrating to mother earth
and she gave me permission,
to dig holes further down,
bury bulbs down even further
and so i did
and winter and spring passed and nothing really happened,
but heavens to betsy whistling with pig tails in the tree tops,
a few months later,
in mid-summer July,
garlic in the bean stock popped up,
not too tall,
but a half dozen bulbs just the same,
dangling like earrings
in pre-pumpkin harvest,
real bitter and garlicky to taste,
just the way i like ’em.

6 Responses to “more down up beautifications”

  1. kvennarad October 22, 2015 at 4:48 am #

    “That’s an ill phrase, a vile phrase; ‘beautified’ is a vile phrase.” – Polonius in ‘Hamlet’ by WS.

    Garlic, on the other hand, has my voice.

    • Steve Myers October 22, 2015 at 10:15 am #

      Dear Polonius,
      “But I said beautification not beautified and I can’t resist anyway, not with garlic. It is the mirror of my soul. I put a dash of its bulbs on just about everything, save cold cereal.

      • kvennarad October 22, 2015 at 2:45 pm #

        “That’s all right then, but I still got killed.”

        • Steve Myers October 22, 2015 at 4:22 pm #

          Why killed?

          • kvennarad October 23, 2015 at 4:22 am #

            It had to do with soft furnishings.

            • Steve Myers October 23, 2015 at 9:55 am #

              I’m still confused, but that’s a good place to begin.

Comments are closed.

