not so evil inner machinations made visible

22 Apr

there’s a bird,
maybe a sparrow,
maybe a robin,
i’m not sure,
but I’d like to know
its genus and species,
its genius and hobbies too,
but for now,
i’ll just listen to its 2 note whistle song,
high chirp
low chirp
pause
high chirp
low chirp
pause
all of the notes
swooping melancholic over 
tombstones
so still and silent,
enjoying the show.

14 Responses to “not so evil inner machinations made visible”

  1. Millie Ho April 23, 2016 at 4:43 am #

    there’s a human
    maybe a child,
    maybe an adult,
    i’m not sure,
    but I’d like to know

    Sounds like this is one of those reversible jackets/bags. You could write this from the perspective of either bird or human. The stage is set for both!

    • Steve Myers April 23, 2016 at 11:07 am #

      My first and only tennis racket, so far, was made of wood and one side said Dunlop and the other Maxply. It proved to be a very effective tool when deciding who would serve first. The reversible like jackets/bags you mentioned made me think of it.

      • Millie Ho April 23, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

        … And that made me think of twin brothers, one evil, and one good. Obviously Maxply is the evil one.

        • Steve Myers April 23, 2016 at 12:57 pm #

          that good versus evil, yes, sounds vaguely familiar and now, here’s an oldie but a goodie,

          • Millie Ho April 23, 2016 at 1:19 pm #

            Love it. I’m just discovering Sun Ra thanks to your comments. 🙂

          • kvennarad April 24, 2016 at 5:35 am #

            That is one great track, by the way. I must do with Sun Ra what I recently did with Led Zep – listen to every single recorded track. Only this time it won’t hurt.

            • Steve Myers April 24, 2016 at 11:54 am #

              And what did you do with Led Zep tracks and will now do with Sun Ra tracks? There sure are lots of em.

              • kvennarad April 25, 2016 at 5:00 am #

                I said, Steve – see above.

                • Steve Myers April 25, 2016 at 12:07 pm #

                  I’m not sure I understand what you mean, but that’s ok.

                  • kvennarad April 26, 2016 at 5:01 am #

                    Okay, so someone I love is a total fan of LZ, and couldn’t understand why I wasn’t. She urged me to listen to them, so I promised her I would make a point of listening to at least one track of theirs every day until I had heard their full recorded output. I did so. It drove me demented – I don’t care if I never hear them again as long as I live.

                    As for Sun Ra, I have a feeling I ought to listen to his whole corpus too. Only this time I will get a whole lot of pleasure from the exercise.

                    Sorry if I explained this badly. 🙂

                    • Steve Myers April 26, 2016 at 5:14 am #

                      thanks marie. you explained it perfect. i guess we’re getting there…

  2. kvennarad April 23, 2016 at 4:59 am #

    Firstly, what Millie said.

    Secondly, I’ll never forget – this is a propos nothing at all – watching ‘Mary Poppins’. It got to the song ‘A spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down’, and in particular the verse about ‘the robin feathering his nest…’ Onto the window ledge in LONDON, ENGLAND hopped an AMERICAN robin, actually a member of the thrush family.

    Funny thing was, I cared about that and didn’t give a damn about Dick Van Dyke’s atrocious attempt at a Cockney accent.

    Oh yeah, and I love this poem. Just saying.

    • Steve Myers April 23, 2016 at 11:13 am #

      A hidden little gem you remember, Mary Poppins singing of “a Robin feathering his nest has very little time to rest.” Best damn architects this side of Jupiter!

      • kvennarad April 24, 2016 at 5:31 am #

        Roger that.

Comments are closed.

