squirrel on a stranger’s tomb

31 May

it’s not that the squirrel didn’t know about the suicide or
that it didn’t care.
there were just things to do,
nuts to gather and what not
as the eulogy was read from a preordained script.

4 Responses to “squirrel on a stranger’s tomb”

  1. glen715 May 31, 2016 at 12:21 pm #

    I live this a lot.

    Speaking of irreverent stuff about funerals, have you ever heard this song by Tom T. Hall called “Ballad of 40 Dollars”. Listen to it. You’ll like it, Steve, I think.

    Glen

    • Steve Myers June 1, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks Glen. No I haven’t heard of it, but now i have.

  2. glen715 June 4, 2016 at 12:02 pm #

    Did you listen to the song? It’s so typical of his songwriting, and you, Steve, could be nicknamed “The Storyteller”, just like he is.

    By the way, I just noticed that in my original reply, I wrote “I live this a lot.” Naturally, I meant “I LIKE this a lot!”

    Glen

    • Steve Myers June 4, 2016 at 12:10 pm #

      i wasn’t sure if you meant live or like. I figured since we have a lot in common you were maybe saying “I can relate to this one” and yes, I just listened to the song in its entirety. Thanks Glen.

Leave a Reply

