whisky with a tree

3 Jul

sometimes my feet behave like a whirlpool drain.
sucking me into the future
when home is everywhere now
if i would only tighten a few screws or loosen them?
my damn head,
but then i do it or the wind does?
something pulls my inner crank,

slows my phonograph mind from 78 to 33 or even slower.
my spaze turns to hum
i lean against a tree,
slide down its barky side slowly,
all the way to the ground
sigh.
the ants are quickly up my pant legs!
or i’m probably panicking things?
i reach for my flask.
take a nice sip gulp
the climate changes or my climate changes,
tundra to tropic
i watch a lady strut her new dress,
a wind slip exposes her legs look great,
the tree roots roll across the green earth look great too
whistles in the trees,
screams of children playing under sprinkler toys
a dark blanket will soon cover the sky and
different kinds of screams will fill the world.
i’ll be eating soup or hopefully sleeping like a log.

 

4 Responses to “whisky with a tree”

  1. kvennarad July 4, 2016 at 4:47 am #

    You just triggered a memory – used there to be ‘record-your-own-voice’ machines at fairgrounds, that produced floppy records at a slower speed that 33? I seem to remember 18rpm, but I might be totally wrong.

    • Steve Myers July 4, 2016 at 10:40 am #

      i wonder if the black boxes of planes are available during times other than ‘after the big crash?’

  2. kvennarad July 5, 2016 at 5:52 am #

    Yes. And apparently they’re actually orange balls. Anyone actually looking for a black box would miss them.

Leave a Reply

