soon june

8 Mar

She didn’t, in the end, avoid a number stamped on her forearm. She was murdered, but Anne Frank does have a different sort of number associated with her name. It’s an ISBN and I think that stands for international something or other. It’s a number for tomorrow and the next day and the day after that and so on until they get rid of books altogether, but by then they will be digitalized or maybe they already are?

Anne Frank was born June 12, 1929. She received a blank diary on June 14th for her 11th or 12th birthday. She put it to good use. She hid up in that Amsterdam attic with her family and scribbled away. Must have been hard for so many reasons, one being the tip toe requirements. I haven’t read the book in many years and maybe I’ll read it again and content myself with the clarity of Anne Frank in contrast to the recent Wiki Leaks CIA breach scandal that is supposedly more serious than the Snowden scandal a few years ago.

I put no blame on newspapers. In fact, I praise them for challenging me, not just with this wiki CIA breach, but with Quebec City hoopla over the removal of a Cross from a hospital. Apparently it violates some such law about ant-religious signage in Quebec. I think it all started with Muslim head-gear and has now spread to crosses and kippahs. There was an article in the paper the other day about a man who insisted a cross come down from the hospital and so it did, but then was put back up. I forget why or how it was put back up, but the article mentioned 1917 Russia and the removal of all religious symbols. What a wonderful reference! What an article! Bravo to the newspaper! If I had a printing press, I would write my reaction down and deliver it as a small pamphlet on a local street corner, free of charge.

Today was an up and down day; most are. A lady at work pontificated to me about Greek Tragedies. She told me if you want to know anything about Europe, you gotta know the Tragedies and the soliloquies. She’s the one who loves the book ‘Lullabies for Little Criminals,’ loves the way the author writes.

I heard someone mention Glen Gould’s ‘Goldman Variations’ or maybe it was Goldberg?

Another guy confessed to not seeing the movie ‘Jacob’s Ladder,’ probably a ruse because then he recommended the movie ‘Silent Hill.’ I think it’s based on a video game and is horrific. Maybe I suffer from too much hope? Was it Henry Miller who said “there’s no hope, but don’t despair?” Well, someone said it and I don’t subscribe to it. I have to hope. Anything else is horribly depressing. I don’t wear depression very well.

A Buddhist guy at work left a few books behind, sort of like green bibles. I turned randomly to page 53 and it said, “je vais essayer de vous montrer aujourd’hui la vrai moi, celui que est cache, pour la faux moi.” My botched translation is “I am going to try and show you the real me today, that which is hidden by the fake me.” 

They’re using the book “The Martian” to teach science in schools. I read about it in the NY Times. I might check the book out from the library. I’m always looking to learn something new, especially as I get older and my mind dulls.

I paid 13 bucks this past weekend and went to see the movie ‘Paterson.’ I loved it a lot. I love every movie Jim Jarmusch has directed. This one might be his best, about a bus driver who is a poet, about Paterson, New Jersey being home at one point to two well know poets – Alan Ginsberg and William Carlos Williams. In fact, I think Ginsberg dedicated a few poems to Williams. But back to Jarmusch. I love his simple, subtle style, the way he teeters on a tight rope between psychotic paranoia and total synchronicity.

I also watched the move ‘Captain Fantastic,’ another golden nugget, a kind of putting into action all of Noam Chomsky’s ideals including the guerrilla warfare.

What the hell is the allure of demagogic populism as opposed to the convivencia of medieval Spain or the prophecies of Isaiah?

I like book review sections of newspapers. I like the interviews of authors and the detailed descriptions of their books, like Eden Robinson, the Sixties Scoop, 600 different Nations, Haisla and Heiltsuk to name two.

I sort of wrote a poem today,
about the shadows of tree branches sometimes being vertical and
sometimes looking like prison bars
melted with one good thought.

7 Responses to “soon june”

  1. Allan G. Smorra March 8, 2017 at 11:57 pm #

    You have had some busy days this week, Steve. Thanks for the tip about “Paterson” and the reminder about Anne Frank. 2 for the que.
    Ω

    • Steve Myers March 9, 2017 at 2:00 am #

      Oh yes, that Paterson is a good one. I hope there were no spoilers in my brief gush? I’m finding the days have more meaning when I ponder and share them.

      • Allan G. Smorra March 9, 2017 at 3:02 pm #

        I like to wonder as I wander, myself. It good to hear from you again, Steve.
        Ω

  2. kvennarad March 9, 2017 at 5:55 am #

    “What the hell is the allure of demagogic populism as opposed to the convivencia of medieval Spain or the prophecies of Isaiah?”

    You got me there!

    • Steve Myers March 9, 2017 at 11:58 am #

      I did a drive-thru wikipedia verification in the hopes of answering my own question and apparently it mixes or confuses political doctrines with academic hypotheses and old testament prophecies.

  3. glen715 March 9, 2017 at 11:59 am #

    I don’t really understand this post, to be honest with you, Steve. I guess it’s a stream of consciousness kind of post, right?

    Glen

    • Steve Myers March 9, 2017 at 12:02 pm #

      i’m not sure what it’s called other than my thoughts for the day.

Leave a Reply

