house still on fire

4 Sep

i was walking along,
in no particular direction,
in no particular neighborhood.
i was just walking and i saw this house.
it had caught on fire.
the shutters were hanging down like suicides,
but the house hadn’t turned totally charbroiled,
there were some red and orange streaks
and it got me thinking about symbols.
i walked inside
and something pushed me down to the basement,
to under the steps.
that’s where I spotted a blood-colored heart and inside was written
SALLY + JOHNNY.
i looked at it a while and then climbed back upstairs, all that sizzling around me and all those wood boards falling. I was never scared. I knew that the heart and those names would survive. i walked away thinking I should definitely talk to a stranger.

One Response to “house still on fire”

  1. kvennarad September 5, 2020 at 4:56 am #

    Yes. This.

Leave a comment