maybe it was your dreadlocks?

19 Sep

i’m excited about paranoia: sorry to be so emotional up front. i know this is a job application so here it goes….to whom it may concern:
to you with the beautiful weeping willow hair:
dear old new friend:
remember when i sent you that job application song? that beautiful aluminum can dent song? reflecting cleavage song? and i sang my experiences in baritone and saxophone and yet, you didn’t call me in for an interview? well, it’s been three weeks and i wanted to explain my chalkboard thoughts application. I haven’t erased them yet. still on my refrigerator wall, magnet mirrors. I chose aluminum because we all use it. and i’m everyone. i’ll admit it. i like dr. pepper and lots of aluminum comes from here and here is everywhere and if it isn’t aluminum, it’s garlic skin, waterproof, and everywhere else, something else waterproof,….no need for colonizing with aluminum and everything else we see on our walks, me and the loving miracle. i met this lady. i met elisapie in a bus cabin. she was looking up through the bus cabin window sun roof at the clouds. she was dreamy and ancient, dancing for rain. i shoulda been focusing at her upward eyes, but instead, i noticed her ankles, her naked ankles and the ankle bracelet she had around her left or right ankle. i was all turned around by that time. i’m lying. i never met her, never saw her ankles, never saw her looking up. i never cared for your damn job, but my back hurts and i am the sin and the sun and the moon and the many longings and i refuse tomorrow. i’m good at data entry.
sincerely,
job seeker.

7 Responses to “maybe it was your dreadlocks?”

  1. Bob September 19, 2022 at 4:09 pm #

    Wow! This might be my favorite of yours yet. I’d point out all my favorite lines, but I’d just end up listing them all. What exuberance. And laying it all out. I love the “letter” form. I wish I had this exuberance in me right now…but I’ve been feeling closed off. This is really inspiring. I do have to point our these lines at the end, “and i refuse tomorrow. i’m good at data entry.” Love it!

    • Steve Myers September 19, 2022 at 11:31 pm #

      Holy macintosh Bob! I’m glad you liked this one. I say macintosh because my girl friend and i went apple picking sunday. we didn’t have a ladder, but we still were able to pick lots of good ones and i say good because they are hard and crunchy and juicy….macintosh, cortland and i forget the third one we got. good price too. we might go in a couple of weeks for a second time. store up for the winter.

      • Bob September 20, 2022 at 12:16 pm #

        I love apple picking. Looks like some autumn weather this week already, at least in Buffalo. I can’t say I mind the cool weather.

        • Steve Myers September 20, 2022 at 8:34 pm #

          summer does seem to last too long. i wish i lived in one perpetual fall.

        • Steve Myers September 20, 2022 at 8:35 pm #

          fall as in autumn, not falling off a horse though there is a tom waits song(i forget which one) and one of the lyrics goes something like “if i were a tree, i’d be a fallen tree.”

        • Steve Myers September 20, 2022 at 8:36 pm #

          or maybe it’s a cut down tree? i now suddenly need to know what that damn song is.

          • Bob September 20, 2022 at 9:46 pm #

            Let me know. That seems like a fantastic lyric.

Leave a comment